Day 4: Not my kid

I have been reading The One and Only Ivan by Katherine Applegate with my youngest.  She loves it because some of the chapters are super short, not because of the story line.  I love it for the story line.  The way the author uses the gorilla’s perspective on life draws me in.  I want to know more about what he feels, thinks, and does.

My youngest has never been a fan of reading.  As a literacy coach, I just shake my head in disbelief.  How can this child of mine not have inherited my love for books?  She loves to be read to, but doesn’t want to put the time in to reading herself.  Ugh.  What is a mom to do?  We have tried to find her books that she thinks are interesting, books that we can read together, books she can read to her cat, books that may be too easy, books that may challenge her, every genre we can find- and yet we still can not find “the” book that will get her hooked.

I am hoping that as we read more about Ivan, maybe he will convince her of the magic that can be on the next page.   If you have suggestions for a third grade reluctant reader, please pass them along!

 

5 thoughts on “Day 4: Not my kid

  1. Welcome to Slicing! I loved Ivan! Have you read Crenshaw? Another powerful book by Katherine Applegate. Maybe a book to read together. I love your persistence in looking for “the” book. I’ll keep my ear out for anything that is a possibility.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. My youngest daughter was exactly like this growing up. I really didn’t understand it. She’s grown and in college now and I wish I could say that changed and she loves to read now, but she still doesn’t. She says that reading is hard work for her and that she doesn’t like to sit still. She would rather be creating some art, designing some room or climbing some mountain. The good news… she’s very successful and she’s happy. I love this post!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I can relate. I am a voracious reader and teacher. My children rarely see me without a book in hand. Yet somehow, several of them do not share my love for reading. On the other hand, through the years I have seen even my most devout non-reader finally find that book or two that sparks the I-can’t-put-it-down feeling that comes naturally to others of us. I have hope!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. My daughter was not a reader until after college! On the way to her graduation I finished a book that I couldn’t put down, then handed it to her when I walked in the door. She read it, and has been a reader ever since! (It was a book by Jodi Piccoult). There is always hope. I would agree that Crenshaw might be a good read, or Firefly Hollow.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Rose’s comments encourage me! I know how you feel. I read part of Ivan and was struck by the unique perspective of Ivan. There is a cute book that she may like, Always Abigail that drew my attention. I was somewhat of a reluctant reader as a kid. I really only read what I chose, not what was assigned to me, all of my school life. When I was 21, after hearing my secret (I had never read a complete book), a bookstore owner in New Orleans gave me, two books. She said, “I guarantee you will not be able to abandon these two.” And I needless to say, she was right. I have been a reader ever since. My son doesn’t read books either. He will skim and scan them but he reads articles about information he cares about and I have to be okay with it. I know that one day, like Rose said, he will encounter a book that changes his life.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

