Day 5: Watching

img_1314Today I realized I have been doing a lot of watching this year.

I am watching the craziness of the election scene.

I am watching how students are responding to curricular changes.

I am watching how teachers incorporate change into their daily practice.

I am watching my husband deal with the stress of work.

I am watching my own children grow up.

I am watching my parents and in-laws grow older.

I even watched as my dad took his last breath earlier this year.

With all this watching, am I living?  I sure hope so.

 

6 thoughts on “Day 5: Watching

  1. The things you are watching are so important. I think they are truly living – like listening, we need to do more. So sorry to hear about your dad. From experience, while it was hard to watch, I take comfort in knowing that he knew I was there at that time.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. So provocative….as simple as watching is I know I do not do it enough. Thank you for the awareness of the power of observation…and I love your choice of the word ‘watching.’ So sorry for your loss.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. You pose an interesting question. All you wrote is part of life and by doing all those things you are living in the present. But our days do seem to pass too quickly. I think it is a balancing act. Thank you for writing, it caused me stop and reflect too.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I agree that slowing down to be observant and watch is so important. IF we don’t watch, things just might pass us by. And along with watching goes listening. So sorry to hear about your loss. May your memories help bring you peace.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Oh, I think those who watch and listen are really living the best lives because they are taking the time to be in tune with what is going on around them and not just plowing through life. Thanks for reminding me to slow down and watch.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

