Day 23: 4 Days Until Easter

4 days until Easter.  Usually I have everything all planned, baskets wrapped, baked goods made, menu set.  But not this year.

This will be the first holiday since my dad died.  I think all of us, (my mom, sister and brother and I) are dreading the reality of it.  I keep putting planning off, my sister only wants to stop bye, my mom hasn’t even decided if she will come over.

A new normal.  One without Pappy coloring eggs with the kids and hiding money in the eggs for the kids egg hunt, one without my dad carving the ham, one without him telling the same familiar stories he has told year after year.

I am changing it up a bit.  Brunch instead of an early dinner, my house instead of my parents.  A new normal.

DSC01961

 

 

3 thoughts on “Day 23: 4 Days Until Easter

Leave a Reply

