Stamina

Building students stamina is something that I have been pondering a lot these past few weeks.  As the teachers in my district move to the Workshop model for teaching reading and writing, we need to build our students’ stamina for reading and writing.

I am also realizing that teachers need to build their own stamina as well.   Perhaps that is where we should start.  Are you reading for 30-40 minutes at a time?  Are you writing for 30-40 minutes at a time?

I can honestly say that I am a sprint writer and a marathon reader.   I write when I can, when an idea hits, or when it is required of me.  These writing sessions seem to be short, productive bursts.  While reading seems to be more like a marathon; I could read for days if I get lost in a good book.

How can I improve my own reading and writing stamina?  I wonder if I commit to reading for 30 minutes a day for pleasure five days a week, reading for professional growth for 30 minutes a day for five days a week, and writing for 30 minutes a day for five days a week if that would impact my schema about building stamina in students.

I will conduct this self imposed experiment, starting today.  I’ll give myself a month and reflect on my self discovery May 10th.  So it is written, so it shall be done (I hope.)

4 thoughts on “Stamina

  1. I think it is always a good idea to try things out yourself, then you can show others how you did it. Good luck with your plan!

    Like

  2. I’ve thought a lot about stamina/endurance/perseverance today. A big reason kids and adults alike lack stamina is the influence of the screen, particularly phones and the constant interruptions they provide.

    Like

Leave a Reply

