Time, the Best Gift of All

This past Sunday we celebrated Mother’s Day.  My husband and children spoiled me!  A yummy breakfast and lunch at home, followed by dinner at a restaurant; a surprise visit from my oldest, and super precious gifts.

But I think the best gift this weekend was from my husband.  He gave up an entire day to drive out to my Mom’s house to work.  We worked, and worked, and worked all around her house.  This is the second Spring since my Dad died, and a lot did not get done last year.  Partly because we didn’t know what he did every year, partly because my Mom wasn’t ready to do anything he would have normally done.

When I asked Joel if we could go out to the lake to help my mom, he didn’t hesitate.  I don’t think either of us realized just how massive of a list she would have waiting.  We did everything from changing a light bulb, to cleaning out the gutters, to raking out the beach front…oh, and the mulch!

A two hour drive out to the lake to work, another two hour drive home!  Our own spring cleaning will happen over the next few weekends.  But, for now, things are caught up at my Mom’s house.  It felt good to be able to help her.  It was even better because the most amazing man I know was there right along with me!

Happy Mother’s Day, Mom!  Thanks for the fantastic Mother’s Day, Hon!img_1476

3 thoughts on “Time, the Best Gift of All

Leave a Reply

