March Mud Day? #sol17

This year, Michigan has had an unusually warm winter.  Yesterday, my daughter and her friend played outside.  It was all of 38 degrees- warm for us. They were quiet, too quiet.  I should have known better- I should have known better than to trust the silence.

When I checked on them, their smiles were enormous!  So was the mess!  Mud, mud, mud! They found dirt, melted snow, and presto-chango… MUD!

The mom I was 15 years ago would have had a fit!  What are you doing?  Do you realize how much damage you just did to the lawn?  Now the dog is going to come in with muddy paws, ugh the floors! How is my washer going to get those gloves clean?

But the mom I am  today knows that those moments of total silly, innocent fun are fleeting.  Lawn can be repaired, paws and floors can be cleaned, and gloves are replaceable if those stains are as stubborn as they look.  Why cry over mud fun?  Wish I could have joined them!

welcome-wagon-volunteer-with-border

4 thoughts on “March Mud Day? #sol17

  1. Oh this post makes me so happy. There is so much fun and learning to be had in that mud. Maybe your daughter and her friend can do some research and learn how to repair a lawn in the spring, haha!

    She is lucky to have you as a mom!

    Like

  2. I was just having a similar moment. My 2 and 4 year old are upstairs “getting dressed.” I have been debating whether or not to go intervene. But they are quiet and getting along. Your post has reaffirmed my feeling to just let them be.

    Like

Leave a comment