March 17th, SOLSC ‘19

Cooking All Day Long…

Nothing says like Happy St. Patrick’s Day like corned beef and cabbage.

This morning started in a panic. We went to the grocery store, and they were out of corned beef and cabbage! Oh, the horror. How can we have St. Patrick’s Day without our usual feast?

The luck of the Irish was with us at the second grocery store. I soon had my corned beef in the pot with a Guinness Stout and broth. 3 hours later, I added parsnips, carrots and red skin potatoes. Mmmmm the smell filled the house and all of our stomachs grumbled with anticipation.

Not done yet, the cabbage is boiled with the beef and veggies for 30 minutes before I add the cabbage to sautéed onions. Those cook down another half hour, and then, finally, dinner is ready.

It takes almost as long to cook Thanksgiving dinner. Truth be told, I think my family might enjoy this meal even more. But maybe that’s because there won’t be leftovers for days.

7 thoughts on “March 17th, SOLSC ‘19

  1. Mmm… how I love the meal you just described. I could almost taste it! But, this year I completely forgot (today was the last day of our March break – I’m blaming the lack of routine). I may have to make it next weekend, just so I can survive another year.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Since I converted to vegetarian diet, my husband has cooked a much-diminished version of that former slab of corned beef. He did that yesterday, and chewed happily in satisfaction, “Best corned beef ever—at least ’til next year.” Enjoy your celebration!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment