Day 6: Farewell Downton

Farewell Downton!  About 4 years ago my niece and sister-in-law introduced me to the Crawley family.  At first I wasn’t so sure about the fascination with this PBS show of an era long gone.  Now, I am crestfallen to see the final episode.   I have grown to love each character (yes even Thomas- whom I’d never thought I could like) and am amazed at how Julian Fellowes has managed to masterfully write intriguing plots that show not only the change in the characters, but also the change in the world during the pre-and post War era.

When I think of the amazing characters, I think that it is Edith who is my favorite.  She has always gotten the short end of the stick.   Yet, she remains strong, picks herself up, and progresses forward.  If something could go wrong for her, it usually did.  My hope for her tonight, is that she will find true love with Bertie and that Bertie, Marigold and Edith can live happily ever after.

I am eagerly awaiting, tissue box is at the ready and have warned EVERYONE in the house to leave Mom alone during the final two hour conclusion to one of my escapes.

5 thoughts on “Day 6: Farewell Downton

  1. When I saw your tag, I knew! I, too, like Edith best. She’s a modern woman, and it is the female emphasis that resonates most w/ me. And you gave me an idea for a post. Enjoy tonight’s Downtown farewell.

    Like

  2. I am looking forward to this finale as well! I think you are right in that the characters are what appealed to everyone. How they change and grow is a wonderful example of good writing, even though we can only “see” this writing visually. And I’m pulling for Edith, too! She deserves to be happy.

    Like

  3. I too am saying goodbye to my Sunday night escape. What will I do? Unfortunately I cant watch the show until tomorrow night, so I will need to be careful not to see any spoilers! I may want to use caution when reading SOL posts tomorrow.

    Like

Leave a comment